70 Years – Remember

I will never know. I will never know what it was like to be there. I will never know what it was like to be the pilot of a B-29. I will never know the loss of loved ones, swallowed by the cruelty of flames. I will never know what it was like having to rub my nose in bloody, battlefield-dirt, fighting for one island at a time. I will never know the grip of the cold hand of fear on my heart, the feeling my destruction could be imminent. I will never know the sight, the splendor of a 1000 suns burning into the sky.

What words can be added to what has already been said? And who am I to add them? But my conscience leave me no other choice. I will not say what was wrong, or what was right – but I feel compelled to say something. I am compelled to remember.

And this is my meager offering.

I have been humbled, brought to the brink of tears and pushed over. I have been changed in the process of this project. This has been hard for me. This is my magnum opus.

I hope it will change you too.

Download (right click and save as) | iTunes | Stitcher | Ask.fm | Twitter

Remember2

Quotes and speeches used in the making of this episode:

Hideaki Anno excepts from Hideaki Anno: emotional deconstructionist

Mr Yazaki from Peter Carey’s Wrong About Japan

Kinue Tomoyasu’s Hiroshima Testimonial The Voice of Hibakusha

Hideo Kojima excepts from Official Playstation 2 Magazine, 20.02.2003

One comment

  1. Michael Snow · August 4, 2015

    Great post! I can’t wait to hear it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

