Podcast Episode 5 – Still the Same Yamato to Me

This episode we take off to Iscandar. Oft quoted as the most inspiring anime of our age, how does one speak of Yamato? The only way I know how, from the heart.

vlcsnap-2015-05-19-21h18m17s187 Battleship_Yamato_under_air_attack_April_1945

I knew when I reviewed Yamato I would have to deviate from form. I had concerns with the show being so new that some would take this episode as status quo – well, it might well be at this point… That aside, this episode is much longer than normal, so consider this a double-issue, celebratory, fifth episode! I know just how special this series is to many people, and I am proud to be among them. Enjoy the episode. Download (right click and save as) | iTunes | Stitcher | Ask.fm | Twitter Opening Theme: Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199 by Isao Sasaki Ending Theme: Kunimichi 127-go Sen no Shiroki Inazumi by Kishidan Below are the promised show notes.


00:02:23 – NEWS

Join us in the Skies of Love

LoGHgw

Fist of the Father’s Day Teppo Samurai Figure by Miyazaki Cyborg 009 – New Have a Cup of Vegeta Flavored Ramen City Hunter OVA Happy 55th Anno! SWATCHHH GAINAX is (not) Dead

00:17:20 Review

Off to save Iscandar.

311j Operation Ten-Go

I was overly impressed with the ‘drama’ of Yamato. It feels real, and teared me up in spots.

01:40:15 Oricon Top 10 for the Week of 4/28

We had some good tunes this week. The Oricon segment happens to be one of my favorites. Looks like Uta no Prince-sama and IdolMaster just won’t give it up! They’re starting to grow on me actually… Where was that karaoke machine? Oh, and did you like the stinger? uchu-senkan-yamato-visual-2

2 comments

  1. Panino Manino · May 11, 2016

    You did a really good job here, “almost” made me cry.
    But certainly made me regret, because recently I watched the remake (2199) and didn’t reflect much about, during and after. I’m watching and reading a lot this year, so I postponed my further readings (even the indications from good friends) and the original series. I knew Yamato had so much to offer and I missed it… missed until this podcast.

    Japan is a interesting place in that they discuss a lot about themselves.
    Wonder what the future holds for than, with the youth shrinking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Panino Manino · October 28, 2016

    Still waiting for another episode like this one, reminds me the style that Dan Carlin uses in his Hardcore Story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

